Why I dumped my custom image manipulation code from Transitions

After spending several nights and weekends implementing and testing the code I had written for image resizing, it still didn’t work for some popular devices. This was unacceptable. As I gave this a lot of thought, I realized that I was doing it wrong. No. Not just the code. My effort. As much as the engineer that I am, I wanted to make it work. I was very interested in solving it. I wanted to own it much like every other coding problem I try to solve. But, as an Engineer, I also don’t want to “reinvent the wheel” if I am not going to improve it. I certainly wasn’t improving it.

So, for the upcoming release for Transitions, I trashed all of the code I wrote for image manipulation and simply popped in Square’s Picasso library. Why? Because, it’s simply that much less code I need to change/maintain. It is so much easier to look at my code now with all the complex bitmap decoding stuff gone. I’ll let the experts handle that. And, now I can concentrate what really matters. Putting features together. I am still innovating with Transitions. I added a feature to my open source library CustomPreferences which allows you to load a list preference from the database dynamically. It’s very useful when you let your users build their own database of things and you want to allow them to pick from that list. Currently, you can’t do this with the preference classes out-of-the-box. But, you can, with CustomPreferences.

 

 

Leave a Reply

