It is time to give

Disclaimer: This post is not meant to guilt-trip you into signing-up for anything. Just an informational post about something nice happening during the weekend of 10/14.

A few years ago, I was asked if I would volunteer to help build a software for a cause. That was when I was living in Indiana. I participated in the Indy GiveCamp. I helped build a mini-CRM over a weekend for a dance studio operated by women for women. Of course, it wasn’t just me building the application. We were a team of 4. Coming out of the weekend, it was the best feeling ever, of being able to help someone’s cause with my programming skills. I didn’t even spend a dime. It soundsĀ  simple, doesn’t it? These organizations that need help with IT don’t want your money, they want YOU. Your time and help is all that they would like to get for that ONE weekend.

Fast-forward 2 years and I now live in the Seattle area. There is a Seattle GiveCamp happening during the weekend of 10/14. I am going. I even convinced someone I work with, a friend of mine, to sign-up as well. We couldn’t be more excited. I am looking forward to meeting new people, hearing about their causes and cranking out code.

Learn more about GiveCamp and the Seattle GiveCamp. Find out if there is one happening in your city and sign-up. Do it. And take your friends with you too.

Leave a Reply

